Summer 2010Fall 2010
Winter 2011Spring 2011Summer 2011Fall 2011
Winter 2012Spring 2012Summer 2012Fall 2012
This is the "Spring 2013" page of the "Quarterly Vue" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Quarterly Vue   Tags: campus, community, library, newsletter, quarterly_vue  

The AUS Library newsletter is back in digital form!
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2012 URL: http://antiochseattle.libguides.com/newsletter Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Spring 2013 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

l e t t e r

Letter from the Director
by Beverly Stuart

Spring quarter is here, meaning the days are getting longer and many students are thinking about graduation. This is a happy time of year, and the library is happy to welcome new and returning students back to campus. We hope you’ll stop by the library, either physically when you are on campus, or virtually from wherever you find it convenient. We’re also a little excited about our recent remodeling project which included getting the entire library re-carpeted. We have a fresh new look and we’re ready to help you with your research!

New library carpet and books being reshelved

If you need a little help finding journal articles or organizing data for a presentation, the library is sponsoring a series of workshops this quarter. We will be offering several workshop including Microsoft Power Point, Microsoft Excel, Databases (including ProQuest and OhioLINK databases), and RefWorks. You’ll see the schedule in this newsletter as well posted around campus. These are hands on, first-come, first-served but if you have questions or want to make sure you get a spot, you can reserve a seat by emailing or calling the library, 206-268-4507.

Speaking of software, we have more than just the programs mentioned above. For example, if you need to scan and edit photos or other images, we have two flatbed scanners in the library with scanning and editing software. One scanner is connected to a Mac, the other to a PC. Instructions for scanning on posted on the desk next to each scanner. You can also ask for help at the library circulation desk. Other software that you should be aware of includes Genopro, which is used to create family trees; SPSS, which you may need to use if you have to manipulate quantitative data; and Audacity, which is a sound editing program.

 

d r a m a

Display of new drama therapy books

We recently expanded our Drama Therapy collection. Come in and check out the new offerings!

 

t r a i n i n g s

Library Trainings
Computer Classroom, Room 110.

Academic Database Workshop, Wednesday, April 24, 3-4 pm
Including ProQuest and OhioLINK ~ Learn how to find peer reviewed articles / scholarly journals.

Microsoft Excel Workshop, Thursday, April 25, 4-5pm
Fun with formulas and charts.

RefWorks Workshop, Wednesday, May 1, 4-5pm
RefWorks helps you organize your research and create a bibliography.

Academic Database Workshop, Tuesday, May 14, 2-3 pm
Including ProQuest and OhioLINK ~ Learn how to find peer reviewed articles / scholarly journals.

Power Point Workshop, Thursday, May 23, 5-6pm
E-mail dhansen2@antioch.edu if you have specific projects.

Can’t make any of these dates?
Contact Beverly Stuart at 206-268-4507 or bstuart@antioch.edu

 

u p d a t e

New OhioLINK login

Have you tried logging into OhioLINK recently and been redirected to the Institution Selection screen? Technically, you should only have to log in using your Antioch ID# and password.

remote login screen shot

If you’re not seeing the above screen something is wrong. Lately, users attempting to search via the OhioLINK Quicksearch are being redirected to the Institution Selection screen, but when they select Antioch University they get a dead end. We've been told this is because OhioLINK is either phasing out the Quicksearch or moving to a new search product. Either way, users have better options. For one thing, the Quicksearch was never quick anyway; your best bet is to select a particular database such as PsycINFO or ERIC. You can get to individual databases from the left hand side of the main OhioLINK screen by clicking on Library Databases by Name or Title, or By Subject.

Another even easier way to search is from our Research Guides. You’ve seen the research guide buttons on the AUS Library webpage-->Research. For example, click on the Psychology button, and you’ll see a row of tabs across the top of the screen, including one that says Databases. There you’ll find a list of databases that index journals pertaining to psychology, including PsycINFO and several others. Back on the AUS Library Research page, click on the link to Research Guides to see a list of all of our currently published guides.

Finally, another avenue of research is the WorldCat Local catalog, which you’ll find on the main AUS Library webpage. This resource searches across all the Antioch campus libraries for books, journal articles, and other items. WorldCat Local also contains the We Deliver link inside the search results so if your search turns up an item that our campus does not own, you can request it from We Deliver without having to go back out to the main web page. Talk about convenient!

  


 

e v e n t

Permission to Market Yourself flyer

Saturday, May 4, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The AUS Alumni Advisory Council presents “Permission to Market Yourself:” a career preparation event for alumni and current students who want to increase their job search skills and effectiveness. Visit the AUS campus for a day of engaging workshops: Learn how to write an effective résumé, present your strengths during interviews, and take advantage of social media in your job search.

Alumni experts and HR professionals will teach workshops, answer questions, and provide one-on-one guidance throughout the day.

 

r e f l e c t i o n

Faculty Final Reflection

Mary Lou Finley

Mary Lou Finley photo

May 9, 1 – 2:30 p.m.
Room 100

Dr. Mary Lou Finley has been a Core Faculty member at AUS since 1983 and will be retiring in June after a successful teaching career infusing her interests in social movements and nonviolence studies. She is a coauthor of Doing Democracy: the MAP Model for Organizing Social Movements and has published work on the Civil Rights Movement, access to health care, and issues in higher education. Her professional experience includes work with community organizing and social-service organizations, particularly organizations serving the needs of homeless women. She is currently co-editing a book with Dr. Bernard LaFayette about the outcomes of Dr. Martin Luther King’s work as it has unfolded over the past 40 years. Dr. Finley is a much beloved and influential faculty member, and her legacy includes her developing Social Justice Studies in the BA Completion Program, the experiential “Tour of the South” classes as well as her founding work in the AUS Women’s Education Program.

The Final Reflection Program engages AUS retiring faculty an opportunity to offer their "wisdoms" related to their teaching experiences at AUS. In the past, Drs. Wendy Rosen, Susan Starbuck, Candace Harris, and Sadruddin Boga have been celebrated. Mark your calendars and join the AUS community in celebrating Mary Lou’s rich career while listening to and learning from her “final reflection.”

 

s c h o l a r s h i p

The Cooks and Books Series

The Cooks and Books Series flyer

Thirsty Thursday
May 2, 2013 - 6-8 PM in the Lobby

Thirsty Thursday is the first of two events in The Cooks and Books Series. Focusing on social engagement, this event revolves around bringing our student body closer to our physical campus and to inform the student body in a more inclusive and intimate way (rather than e-mail and Sakai). This event will be hosted by The Cooks and Books organizing committee and is sponsored by Student Life.

Thirsty Thursday, held in the Lobby at Antioch University Seattle on May 2, 2013, will primarily be a potluck and social event - feel free to bring food that you have a personal connection to. This is not mandatory for attendance, but encouraged - there will be snacks and pizza provided, just in case.

Along with the potluck, there will also be a chance for on-campus student organizations, groups who have student members, student unions, and the like, to have a table and given the chance to report their activities back to the student body. For example, the Planning and Budget Committee, which has one student representative, will have a table in order to share current conversations or clarify recent budgeting issues (like our tuition increase) to the student body.

 Student Scholarship
May 9, 2013 - 6:30-8:30 PM in room 100 - deadline for participation - May 5, 2013

Student Scholarship is the focus of the second event. A more professional and less social event than Thirsty Thursday, the intent of the Student Scholarship event is to provide students with an opportunity to present work that they have completed, gain feedback in whatever form is needed (on their public speaking, on the work itself, etc.), or even just dry-run a symposium/thesis presentation. This event has a dual intent - to both academically challenge and to provide a much needed service to our student body. This is to be held on May 9, 2013 - 6:30-8:30 PM in room 100.

 

c o n g r a t u l a t i o n s

Student scholarship is alive and well at AUS!

Congratulations to Susana McCune, PsyD candidate. Susana will be presenting at the 6th Annual Geneva International Conference on Person-Centered Medicine (ICPCM) April 27-May 1, 2013. Her presentation will be on Qualitative Research and Person-Centered Medicine (PCM). Susana's presentation advocates for bringing qualitative research methodologies to medicine, the social justice mission of Antioch University, and the achievement of universal health coverage. The conference concludes with a working session at the World Health Organization, and Susana will participate in this session, representing AUS.

Congratulations are also in order to three Art Therapy students who are presenting this summer at the Art Therapy conference in Seattle.



 Finally, on Thursday, May 9, 6-8 pm, there will be a panel of student scholars presenting from across the disciplines in room 100 - see details in the scholarship section of this newsletter.

 

c 3

AUS Center for Creative Change – Upcoming events
Room 100. Free and open to the public.


 

Thursday, May 23, 7 to 9 p.m.
The U.S. Environmental Health Movement: Strategies and Successes

Kate Davies book coverKate Davies, DPhil, Antioch University C3 core faculty
Elise Miller, MEd, director of the Collaborative on Health and the Environment

Join Kate and Elise as they discuss Kate’s new book The Rise of the U.S. Environmental Health Movement, which traces the movement’s ideological and cultural roots and identifies its present-day strategies and successes. By examining what works, this book provides insights into what other social movements can do to advance positive social change.

 

June 18 and 19,  9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
C3 Symposium

Students graduating from the Center’s programs present findings from their community-focused change projects.

  


 

a r t

Call for Art

AUS Faculty, Staff, Student, & Alumni Art Show

May 17 to June 22, 2013

Join us in celebrating the abundant talent we have in the AUS community!

The Art Committee invites you to submit 1-3 pieces (space permitting). Your work will be included in a month-long exhibit and sale. Sale of art is optional. All mediums are welcome, but we can only accept 2-dimensional work at this time.

Deadline for submission of digital images:
Please send digital images of your work by May1st, 5 p.m. to art.aus@antioch.edu.
The images will be used for curating and promotional purposes. This is not a juried show. Images should be jpegs, ideally 300dpi, with the largest dimension no more than 1200 pixels wide. In your email message, please include the title, dimensions and medium for each image.

Deadline for delivery of work:
Thursday, May 9th and Friday, May 10th, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m in Room 112.
All work must be ready for wall hanging. Artists are encouraged to provide appropriate materials to protect their work during delivery and pickup, and purchase insurance for the value of their art. AUS accepts no liability for the art.

If you have questions, please contact:
Jill Haddaway at jhaddaway@antioch.edu
or Lisa Reynolds at lreynolds1@antioch.edu

 

b o o k

Organizationa Trauma and healing book cover

Thursday, May 23
4 - 5:30 p.m.

Pat Vivian and Shana Hormann, have just published Organizational Trauma and Healing.

They'll host a signing party here at AUS on May 23rd.
More details to follow.

 

s o c i a l

Social Media Basics

Thursday, April 18 at noon
in the Computer Classroom, Room 110

Social media is increasingly being used to network, share events, and build community. AUS’s presence is visible across a number of sites like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn – and you are too! We would like to connect with you and show you how to use your presence more effectively.

If you missed it, there will be a repeat of this session later in the quarter.

 

g o o d r e a d s

Speaking of social media, are you on Goodreads? Join the AUS Book Group!

GoodReads is a social media website for people who love to read and talk about books. It’s easy to join our group.

  • Login to your GoodReads account
  • Go to Groups, search AUS, and join

Once there you will see who else is in the group; currently, there are 15 members. Under the list of members you’ll see the group’s bookshelf. Any member can add books to this group. Perusing the bookshelf, you’ll see a varied collection of books authored by AUS faculty and alumni. Also on the bookshelf are the books from the on-campus book club. Maybe you’d like to add the books you read for your classes last quarter. Or maybe this list is your “What do I read next” list. Either way, have fun with it.

 

p o e t r y

April is National Poetry Month!

Thanks to Adam Victor, BA student and library work study, for sharing this poem.

 

p s y c h o l o g y

Psychology news items from Kirk Honda

Seattleite Spotlight features a Counseling & Family Therapy graduate Frank Couch who is now the Executive Director for the Science and Management of Addictions (SAMA). Youth Addiction Specialist: Frank Couch

New episodes of the Psychology in Seattle podcast feature Dr. Ann Blake on Jungian Psychology and Myers-Briggs.

 

c o n t a c t

AUS logo

Library
2326 Sixth Avenue

Seattle WA 98121

206-268-4120

Beverly Stuart, Library Director
206-268-4507

Jill Haddaway, Library Associate
206-268-4504

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip